Call for action

For a while now, an increased visibility of right-wing extremist has been registered in and around Göttingen.  The so called “Freundeskreis Thüringen/Niedersachsen”, that first acted under a pretext of being a hardline conservative organization, has intensified its activities and has not even recoiled from attacks and the use of deadly weapons on differently minded people.

Attacks carried out by right-wing extremists are sadly part of everyday life in Germany. Antisemitic hostilities are taking place on a regular basis, secondary Antisemitism is becoming socially acceptable. Legislation discriminating against foreigners and a questionable handling of refugees and migrants are part of daily routine.

In the presence of a local group like that and a swing to the right in Europe and other parts of the world it is more important than ever to mobilize and fight against racism, right-wing extremism and antisemitism, publicly.

Racism and discrimination are topics that explicitly concern students. Even at the University there is discrimination taking place. Often, foreign students are faced with obstacles that are unknown to German students. And in society as a whole racism and antisemitism are virulent problems. This is especially visible during public appearances of neo-Nazi groups and/or the AfD.  It should not be ignored however that these are all problems rooted deeply within German (mainstream-) society as a whole. The university and its students should not isolate themselves high up in an academic ivory tower but constantly and actively exert their influence within civil society itself.

The festival wants to point out all these grievances and provide first suggestions and stimuli for taking action by offering a mixed program of different political, cultural and informative events within itself, including for example concerts, workshops, talks… It wants to provide a platform to engage with different issues. Furthermore, we want to take a stance against the aforementioned swing to the right and for an open and caring society.

Aufruf

Seit einiger Zeit sind im Raum Göttingen vermehrt Aktivitäten extrem rechter Gruppierungen zu verzeichnen. So hat der sich zunächst bürgerlich gebende, sog. „Freundeskreis Thüringen/Niedersachsen“ seit dem vergangenen Sommer seine Aktionen intensiviert und dabei auch vor massiven Übergriffen mit tödlichen Waffen auf Andersdenkende nicht zurückgeschreckt.

Rechtsextreme Übergriffe gehören leider zum traurigen Alltag in Deutschland. Antisemitische Anfeindungen kommen regelmäßig vor, die Schuldabwehr wird seit einiger Zeit immer salonfähiger gemacht. Eine diskriminierende Ausländer*innengesetzgebung und ein fragwürdiger Umgang mit Geflüchteten und Migrant*innen sind Alltag.

Im Angesicht einer solchen Gruppierung direkt vor Ort und einem in ganz Europa und anderen Teilen der Welt zu beobachtenden Rechtsruck ist mehr denn je die Notwendigkeit vorhanden, öffentlich gegen Rassismus, Rechtsextremismus und Antisemitismus zu kämpfen und zu mobilisieren.

Rassismus und Diskriminierung sind darüber hinaus Themen, die auch Studierende explizit etwas angehen. Denn auch an der Universität gibt es Diskriminierung. Oft sind ausländische Studierende mit Hürden konfrontiert, die deutschen Studierenden unbekannt sind. Und auch gesamtgesellschaftlich sind Rassismus und Antisemitismus ein virulentes Problem. Besonders sichtbar wird dies häufig an Auftritten von Neonazis oder der AfD. Es sollte jedoch nicht vergessen werden, dass es sich dabei um Phänomene handelt, die tief in der deutschen Mehrheitsgesellschaft verwurzelt sind. Die Universität und gerade auch die Studierenden dürfen sich hiervon nicht in einem Elfenbeinturm abschotten, sondern müssen immer wieder aktiv auch in die Zivilgesellschaft hineinwirken.

Unser festival contre le racisme will auf all diese Missstände hinweisen und erste Anregungen und konkrete Handlungsmöglichkeiten gegen Rassismus aufzeigen, indem ein gemischtes Programm den Rahmen für verschiedene politische, kulturelle und informative Veranstaltungen bietet. Es will Gelegenheit für Interessierte schaffen, sich mit verschiedenen Themen auseinanderzusetzen. Darüber hinaus wollen wir ein notwendiges Zeichen gegen die o.a. Tendenzen und für eine offene und solidarische Gesellschaft setzen.